Scholarly & Creative

June 11, 2013 at 4:00 am

Faculty Honored at Years of Service Luncheon

The following faculty awards were announced by Dr. Steve O. Michael, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, at the Annual Years of Service Awards Luncheon on May 21:

Dr. Megan C. Wright, Assistant Professor of Biology, received the 10th Stacy Anne Vitetta ’82 Professorship Award. Wright’s proposed research, “Contribution of Teneurin Cell Adhesion Molecules in Peripheral Nerve Development and Regeneration,” will involve undergraduate student researchers.

Dr. Graciela Slesaransky-Poe, Associate Professor in Special Education, received the seventh Frank and Evelyn Steinbrucker ’42 Endowed Chair. Slesaransky-Poe’s proposal, “Embracing Gender and Sexual Diversity in Education,” will promote professional development opportunities, conferences and research projects to help educators support students who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning or queer.

Dr. Christina M. Brown, Assistant Professor of Psychology, received 11th The Dr. Thomas P. Dougherty Endowed Faculty-Student Research Award. Through experimental research, Brown and four student research assistants will examine the “critical role of social experiences in the self.”

Dr. Elizabeth Vogel, Assistant Professor of English, and her co-researcher, Dr. Rachel Collins, received The Ellington Beavers Faculty Award for Intellectual Inquiry. Their project, “Re/Framing Writing Across the Curriculum: Discovering How Space Shaped the Origins of WAC at Beaver College,” will explore how WAC spread throughout Beaver College using archival research, oral interviews, and GIS modeling.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>